India Vs Newzealand 1st One Day International | Newzealand easily chased 307 runs

India Vs Newzealand 1st One Day International

India’s tour of Newzealand 2022 was started after the completion of the T 2O World Cup in Australia. Both Newzealand and India have reached the semifinals in the T2O World Cup. India lost to England in the semifinal whereas Pakistan beat Newzealand, and reached the final.

After the world cup, India started their tour to Newzealand with 3 matches of T20 Internationals. Out of the 3 T20 Internationals, only 2 have been played, and the 2nd match was washed out due to Rain. The first T20I match was won by India convincingly, thanks to the spectacular 111 runs by Surya Kumar Yadav.

The third T20I was tied as rain halted the match. India won the T20I series by 1-0.

After the T20I series, now it’s the time for the 3-match One Day International Services between the two teams.

India Vs Newzealand One Day International Series Schedule

MatchVenueDateDay or Night
India Vs Newzealand 1st One Day InternationalAuckland25-11-2022D/N
India Vs Newzealand 2nd One Day InternationalHamilton27-11-2022D/N
India Vs Newzealand 3rd One Day InternationalChristchurch30-11-2022D/N

India Vs Newzealand 1st One Day International

India Vs Newzealand 1st One Day International
India Vs Newzealand 1st One Day International

The India Vs Newzealand 1st One Day International has been played at Auckland. Newzealand has won the toss and asked the Indians to bat first. With impressive half centuries from Shikar Dhawan, Shubhman Gill, and Shreyas Ayyar and a rapid-fire quick 16 ball, 37 by Washington Sundar helped India to put in a mammoth total of 306/7.

The Indian openers put a century opening partnership with initially Gill, making the most of the runs. Later Dhawan came into the race, gained momentum, and completed his half century. Immediately after his 50 Gill got out.

Later Shreyasa and Sanju Samson put together a quick 77 ball 94 run partnership before Sanju was out for 36 runs. But it was Washington Sundar who helped India to cross the 300 mark with his unbeaten 37 in just 16 balls with 3 sixes and 3 fours.

Newzealand Bowlers Tim Southee and Lockie Ferguson have scalped 3 wickets each and Adam Milne got 1. Tim Southee has become the 5th Newzealand Bowler to achieve 200 ODI Wickets.

In reply to India’s big total Newzealnd opener Finn Allen fell quickly after making a quick 22 runs with one 6 and 2 fours. Devon Conway and Daryl Mitchell fell quickly with 88 runs on the board. Then it was time for Newzealand. The responsibility was taken by Newzealand captain Kane Williamson, with good support from Tom Latham.

These two batsmen studied the innings slowly built the partnership and completed the half centuries. It was then Tom Latham’s show, who punished each and every bowler except Sundar.

Latham has shifted the gears and raced to 145 off 104 balls with 19 fours and 5 sixes. With his unbeaten knock, New Zealand managed to chase the huge total with 17 balls left. Latham was at one stage 36 off 43 balls, then ended with 145* off 104 in the end. Newzealand won the match by 7 wickets with 17 balls to spare.

Latham and Kane Williamson have put together an unbeaten 221-run partnership. Kane Williamson was unbeaten on 94 of 98 balls. For India Washington Sundar is the most economical without a wicket, Umran Malick picked 2 and Sardul Thakur got 1 wicket.

Tom Latham has won the Man of the Match Award for his brilliant unbeaten 145 in 104 balls. Newzealand is 1 Up in the Series.

Match Summary

India – 306/7 (50 Overs)

Shikhar Dhawan 72 runs

Shubman Gill 50 runs

Shreays Iyer 80 runs

Washington Sundar 37 runs notout

Newzealand – 309/3 (47.1 Overs)

Kane Williamson 94 runs not out

Tom Latham 145 run not out

Newzealand Won the Match by 7 Wickets

Player of the Match – Tom Latham

Check Our Other Related Articles: FIFA World Cup Football 2022 | Football Extravaganza At Peak

Leave a Comment